Most Disliked Things…

I would have titled this “What I Hate the Most” or something stronger like that, but I’m really trying to discourage the use of  the h-word and I know that I gotta start with me first–after all, my kids read this blog!

Back to the topic.  I know that the number one fear is public speaking–it beats out snakes and death in most polls.  As for me, public speaking–love it.  Snakes–hate, dislike them intensely.  Death–would prefer to wait a good long while.

One thing is near the top of my Dislike List:  my kids’ blood. 

Now, normally I’m very calm and cool in an emergency situation, but when my kids are bleeding, the only way I have the Calm and Cool role is if I also am The Only Adult on the Premises.  If there’s another adult human around, capable of taking charge for a moment, I’m a mess.

What brought this up, you ask.  A major hockey injury?  No.  An unfortunate accident brought on by kid-like high energy?  Nope. 

Here it is:  A loose tooth. 

Both M and N  have a loose tooth right now.  And they both happen to know that I hate (oops there it is again) intensely dislike bloody tooth messes.  So of course, they are using whatever opportunity they have to twist and flip those little biters around. 

ACK!  I have been known to run literally in the opposite direction when they start into their teeth antics. 

Think about it:

loose-tooth

(photo credit–not my kids’ mouth–I couldn’t get this close to their loose teeth without losing it.)

Grosser yet is the bloody hole left after the extrication process is complete.

Which is why in our house, some things are just Dad’s Job.  And for the two little (tooth-hanging-by-a-thread-wiggling-and-spinning-around-in-my-skull) angels in my home, their sad, pitiful cries of, “I’ve got a loose tooth–puh-leeeeeze help me!” are met with my super-mom response of, “Ack!  Go talk to your dad!”

It’s all about delegation, baby.

3 Comments

Filed under blood, children, dislike, family, fear, husband, loose tooth, motherhood, parenting

3 responses to “Most Disliked Things…

  1. Pingback: Nasty Tooth Update « What Matters Most

  2. Chicken Fajita

    Pickles are good!

Leave a comment